Illinois Section of the Mathematical Association of America

March 23, 2018 Business Meeting Valparaiso University

Sharon Robbert called the meeting to order at 4:31 p.m.

Pat Kiihne read the minutes of the 2017 Business Meeting. The minutes were approved as read. The agenda was approved as read.

Section Representative Report: Jon Johnson reminded the section of MathFest in Denver. He also encouraged members interested in serving on a national MAA committee to submit their name. Jenny Quinn added that when volunteering for a committee it helps if you include why you'd be good for a particular committee.

Revised Bylaws: Sharon noted there were copies of the proposed revised bylaws available at the back. She asked for questions or comments. A motion was made and seconded to approve the bylaws as presented. The motion carried.

Election of New Officers: Sharon thanked outgoing officers Keven Hansen (Director for Community Colleges), Andrew Shallue (Director at Large), Michael Sostarecz (Director at Large), and Ellen Ziliak (Section NExT coordinator). Tim Comar presented the slate from the Nominating Committee: Chair Elect—Ellen Ziliak of Benedictine University, Secretary-Treasurer—Pat Kiihne of Illinois College (for second term), Director for Community Colleges—Abigail Bailey of Elgin Community College, Directors at Large—Angela Antonou of University of St. Francis and Chris Tweddle of Governor's State University, and Section NExT Coordinator—Emily Olsen of Milliken University. Sharon asked for nominations from the floor. No nominations were made. The section elected the slate presented from the Nominating Committee.

Section NExT Coordinator: Ellen Ziliak reported there was one new Section NExT fellow (David Failing of Lewis University) and one continuing Section NExT fellow (Angela Antonou of University of St. Francis). She encouraged departments to nominate new faculty for Section NExT.

Awards Committee: Michael Sostarecz reported that OUR (Outstanding Undergraduate Award winners) would be announced before the final plenary talk. Three awards (Distinguished Teaching, Early Career Teaching, and Distinguished Service) will be presented at the banquet. (That evening Abigail Bailey received the award for distinguished teaching, Tim Comar for distinguished service, and Amanda Harsy for early career teaching.) He also noted that every five years the section nominates a member for a certificate of meritorious service from the MAA. Dan Hrozencik has received that award. **Finance Committee:** Sharon Robbert reported that the FY19 budget was approved at the board meeting the previous evening.

Section Information Coordinator: Michael O'Leary encouraged members to check out the section website and to send him information for the website. Sharon also shared the section's Facebook link.

New Business: The 2019 Section Meeting will be held March 29-30 at Southern Illinois University Carbondale.

Resolution: Pat Kiihne read the resolution thanking Valparaiso for hosting the meeting. The resolution passed by acclamation.

The meeting adjourned at 4:51 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Pat Kiihne, Illinois Section Secretary-Treasurer