Illinois Section of the Mathematical Association of America

March 31, 2017 Business Meeting College of DuPage

Tim Comar called the meeting to order at 5:03 p.m.

The minutes of the 2016 business meeting were approved as read. The agenda was approved as read.

Governor's Report: Jon Johnson reminded the section of MathFest in Chicago this summer. On Saturday he and Sharon Robert will give a talk about what MAA can do for you. He encouraged people interested in serving on a national MAA committee to see him and submit their name.

Program Committee: Keven Hansen reported there were approximately 130 people in attendance at the conference with more possible on Saturday. He reported on the BIG panel earlier that afternoon and announced there would be another panel tomorrow on helping students succeed.

Two Year College Committee: Keven Hansen reported on the post secondary and workforce readiness act.

Awards Committee: Tim Comar reported there were 5 submissions for the OUR awards and none for the OGRE awards. There were no submissions for distinguished teaching or service awards this year.

Teacher Education Committee: Todd Oberg reported that all secondary and K-12 education programs will be under new rules in summer 2018.

Section NExT: Ellen Ziliak reported there are three new Section NExT participants: Angela Antonou of the University of St. Francis, Sungwon Ahn of Roosevelt University, and David Failing of Lewis University.

Nominating Committee: Tony Bedenikovic thanked outgoing officers: Tim Comar (Chair), Ilya Kristal (Director of Public Universities), Mandy Maxwell and Neil Nicholson (Directors at Large), and Tony Bedenikovic (Past Chair and interim Section Information Coordinator). He presented the following slate: Chair: Sharon Robbert of Trinity Christian College, Director of Public Universities: Wesley Calvert of Southern Illinois University Carbondale; Directors at Large: Sarah Bockting-Conrad of DePaul University and Chris Morin of Blackburn College; Section Information Coordinator: Michael O'Leary of College of DuPage. There were no nominations from the floor. It was moved and seconded to accept the slate of candidates. Motion carried. Chair's Report: Tim Comar reported that the Trisection Meeting (Illinois, Indiana, and Michigan Sections) will take place March 23 and 24, 2018 at Valparaiso University. SIUC will host the Illinois Section meeting March 29-30, 2019. Those interested in hosting future meetings can request guidelines for a proposal. They should contact Sharon Robbert.

Tim also noted the section is looking for an AWM liaison. A subcommittee of the board continues to work on revision of the bylaws. Anyone interested in participating should see Tim.

The Section is establishing an Early Career Teaching Award (ECTA). Ellen Ziliak distributed criteria for the award.

Tim thanked the outgoing board members. He extended special thanks to Tony Bedenikovic for serving in two roles this year. He also thanked Scott Harrod for his help in the revision of the website.

The meeting adjourned at 5:40 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Pat Kiihne

ISMAA Secretary/Treasurer