Illinois Section of the Mathematical Association of America March 28, 2015 Business Meeting Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Minutes

Tony Bedenikovic called the meeting to order at 4:46 p.m.

The April 5 minutes of the Business Meeting were approved as read. The agenda was approved as read.

Nominating Committee: Dale Hathaway presented the slate of officers: Tim Comar for chair-elect, Mandy Maxwell and Neil Nicholson for Directors at Large (3 year term), Ilya Krishtal for Director for Public Universities, Dan Hrozencik for Section Information Officer (remaining two years of the three year term), and Paul McCombs for Director at Large (1 year term). Dale called for nominations from the floor. No additional nominations were made. All candidates were elected.

Chair's Report: Tony Bedenikovic thanked the local organizers Adam Weyhaupt and Cindy Traub. He also thanked outgoing board members Adam Weyaupt, Melanie Pivarski, and Pedro Teixera and outgoing committee members Cindy Traub and Heather Dye. He encouraged those who are interested in serving on a committee to please contact him.

Governor's Report: Tony Bedenikovic report that Iraj Kalantari has stepped down as governor for health reasons. The MAA Executive Committee will appoint a replacement.

Finance Committee: Scott Harrod reported that the budget was approved the previous evening, but it may need to be adjusted for fall. The accumulated surplus has been spent down by sponsoring Project NExT fellows and giving undergraduate travel awards. The section may not be able to continue the amount of undergraduate travel awards; he sought suggestions for funding.

Program Committee: Vali Siadat reported on the progress of the meeting. He noted that there is an MAA plenary speaker already lined up for the 2015 meeting. Tony thanked the program committee for their work.

Awards Committee: Tim Comar reported that there will be both service and teaching awards this year. At the banquet the distinguished teaching award was presented to Paul McCombs and the distinguished service award was presented to Gregory Galparin.

Teacher Education Committee: Jim Olsen discussed changes in math expectations in elementary and middle school teachers. A Teacher Ed Summit was held on March 1 and supported by ISMAA, IMTE, IMACC, and ICTM. He expressed hope for better communication between higher ed and the state board based on what the ISBE representative had to say at the summit.

Two-Year College Committee: Dan Hrozencik had no formal report but gave a brief description of the committee's role.

Project NExT coordinator: Cindy Traub reported that the section had one new Section Next fellow. The Project NExT workshop has been moved into the body of the conference.

Section Information Coordinator: Dan Hrozencik gave a reminder that the secion website is now hosted by the MAA (http://sections.maa.org/illinois/). A fall newsletter and a spring newsletter both appear on the site. There was a brief discussion regarding why the MAA wants to host the site.

Tony Bedenikovic reported that the MAA Centennial is in 2015 and the Section Centennial is in 2017 (with MathFest 2017 in Chicago).

Illinois Articulation Initiative: Herb Kasube announced there will be a math major panel to approve courses in the calculus sequence, differential equations, and linear algebra. The panel needs 4 private-institution members, 1 four-year public institution member, and 1 four-year public transfer coordinator. Those willing to volunteer should talk to him.

New Business: The 2015 Annual Meeting will be held March 27-28, 2015 at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:28 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Patricia L. Kiihne Secretary-Treasurer