Illinois Section of the Mathematical Association of America March 30, 2012 Business Meeting Illinois State University Minutes

Dale Hathaway called the meeting to order at 4:46 pm.

The April 8, 2011 minutes of the Business Meeting were approved as read.

Nominating Committee: Iraj Kalantari presented the slate of officers: Patricia Kiihne for Secretary-Treasurer, Cindy Traub for Section NExT Coordinator, Vali Siadat for Director of Community Colleges, Jim Olsen and Howard Dwyer for directors-at-large, and Tony Bedenikovic for Chair-elect. Iraj called for nominations for Director of Public Universities. Adam Weyhaupt was nominated and all candidates were elected.

Dale thanked those leaving the Board this year (Jon Johnson, Cyrill Oseledets, Scott Harrod, and Vince Matsko) for their service. He also thanked those who served on various committees.

Program Committee: Tim Comar reported on the progress of the meeting and thanked George Seelinger, the local contact, for his service on the Program Committee.

Section Information Coordinator: Dan Hrozencik reported on e-mail communications through the MAA and polled members on whether they had received e-mail notifications.

Two-year College Committee: Dan Hrozencik reported that the committee will be working with IMACC on a proposal for a developmental mathematics course to be included in the Articulation Guide.

Project NExT coordinator: Cindy Traub reported that the Section received no new applications. The workshop on Saturday afternoon will be on undergraduate research

Governor's Report (Peter Andrews): Peter reported on: (1) the e-mail issue, noting that members needed to confirm their e-mail preferences on the MAA site; (2) MAA overhauling it professional staff; (3) MAA looking for an Assistant or Associate Treasurer and a Deputy Executive Director; and (4) the Dolciani Foundation gift to MAA. Peter also reported that there were 27 participants in 10 teams competing in the Student Math Contest.

Awards Committee: Tony Bedenikovic reported that both the Distinguished Teaching and Distinguished Service Awards will be given this year (Robert Brabenec for Distinguished Teaching and Iraj Kalantari for Distinguished Service were given the awards at the banquet). Tony also reported that there were seven submissions for the OUR awards.

Jon Johnson reported that there were approximately 140 students who have attended the meeting.

Chair's Report: Dale Hathaway requested that those who are interested in serving on committees to please contact him.

New Business: The 2013 Annual Meeting will be held April 5-6, 2013 in downtown Chicago at Roosevelt University.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jon L. Johnson, Secretary - Treasurer