2011 Business Meeting of the Illinois Section of the MAA North Central College April 8, 2011

The meeting was called to order by Iraj Kalantari at 5:25 pm.

The minutes of the 2010 Business Meeting were approved as amended.

Iraj reported that the ISMAA website is becoming more organized and will be hosted by the MAA by this summer.

Scott Harrod, for the Nominating Committee, moved the following slate for election: Director of Public Universities – Olcay Akman, and Directors-at-large -- Melanie Pivarski and Tiffany Troutman. Nominations were closed and the slate was elected.

Cyrill Oseledets, chair of the Program Committee, thanked the Program Committee members Tim Comar, Tim McMurray, John Ye, and the local representative Rich Wilders for their help in organizing the meeting.

Tim McMurray reported that there were four new Section NExT fellows and the NExT program began this morning with the workshop and will end tomorrow with a discussion session.

Olcay Akman, for the Awards Committee, reported that none of the Distinguished Teaching, Distinguished Service or Outstanding Undergraduate Research (OUR) awards received submissions. A discussion of ways to generate submissions followed.

Herb Kasube announced that the 2012 MAA Study Tour will be to Italy, and the 2014 tour will be to India.

Iraj thanked those leaving the Board for their service: Lanette Poteete-Young, Doug Nelson, Joanne Eary, and John Ye.

New Business: The 2012 annual meeting will be held at Illinois State University on March 29-31, 2012.

The meeting adjourned at 5:58 pm

Respectfully submitted,

Jon L. Johnson, Secretary - Treasurer