Business Meeting of the Illinois Section of the MAA Bradley Univertsity April 3, 2009

The meeting was called to order at 4:58 pm by Lanette Poteete-Young.

The minutes were approved as read.

Andrew Leahy, reporting for the Nomination Committee, presented the following slate: Scott Harrod for Director-at-Large, Vince Matsko for Director-at-Large, and Cyrill Oseledets as Director of Two Year Colleges. There were no new nominations from the floor and the slate was elected.

It was reported that 17 teams totaling 42 students were competing in the Math Contest.

Herb Kasube gave the Governor's report.

The proposed Bylaws changes were described, moved, and seconded with the following amendments introduced:

- 1. The Auditor be renamed the Financial reviewer and the Audit Committee be renamed the Financial Review Committee.
- 2. The definition of a quorum for the Section Business Meeting was changed to comply with the requests of the Committee on Sections.

The amendments and the Bylaws changes passed.

Lanette thanked the members of the Board whose terms were expiring: Andrew Leahy, Tony Bendenkovic, Paul McCombs, and Ken Clements.

The Finance Committee reported that the proposed budget was approved at the Board Meeting.

Pat Kiihne, for the Program Committee, thanked everyone and indicated that the Program Committee was starting to plan next year's meeting.

Oclay Akman reported that there will be a Distinguished Service Award winner this year (Andrew Leahy was announced as the winner at the Banquet) and that there are three students who won the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Awards.

Tim Comar announced that Aaron Zerhusen from Illinois Wesleyan is a new Section NExT fellow.

Dan Hrozencik asked for information for the fall newsletter. Mailing of newsletters and program announcements was also discussed.

Announcements:

Linda Sons reported that the American Diploma Project will be developing standards on what every high school student should know in mathematics when they graduate. This will probably involve a "rewrite" of the Illinois Learning Standards.

There was no New Business.

The next Annual Meeting will be at Augustana College on April 9 -10. 2010.

The Meeting was adjourned at 5:46 pm

Respectfully submitted,

Jon L. Johnson Secretary / Treasurer