## Illinois Section of the MAA Business Meeting March 28, 2003 Illinois College

The Business Meeting of the ISMAA was called to order by James Marshall at 4:30 p.m.

The minutes were approved as read by Jon Johnson.

The Treasurer's Report was presented for informational purposes.

The Annual Meeting sites for 2004 (Roosevelt University, Schaumburg, IL) and 2005 (Knox College, Galesburg, IL) were announced, and schools were invited to host the 2006 meeting.

## **Committee Reports:**

**The Nominating Committee** (Melvyn Jeter) Melvyn made the following nominations: Director of Community Colleges: Keven Hansen; Director-at-Large: Roger Eggleton; Director-at-Large: Sharon Robbert; Director-at-Large: Patricia Kiihne. There were no nominations from the floor and the slate passed unanimously. Since Keven was elected as a Director of Community Colleges, the committee nominated Jim Harris for Keven's vacant Director-at-Large position. There were no nominations from the floor and Jim was elected unanimously.

**Finance Committee:** Ralph Czerwinski presented the budget and explained the rationale for the changes.

**Two-Year College Committee** (Keven Hansen): Keven explained the editorial changes in the College Algebra statement in the Illinois Mathematics and Computer Science Articulation Guide and made a motion to accept the changes. The motion was seconded and passed. Keven also announced that the fifth task force to revise the articulation guide is being constituted.

**The Teacher Education Committee** (Don Porzio): reported on the teacher certification changes. The committee was charged with examining the two pairs of conflicting agendas: (1) increasing standards vs. reduced funding and (2) having a mathematics curriculum to meet the standards and fitting the curriculum into 4 years. It was also noted that the middle school certification requirements must ensure that the teachers are mathematically competent.

**Student Chapter Liaison:** John Haverhals reported that there were 35 students participating on 14 teams in the Student Mathematics Contest. He also thanked the Eastern Illinois University faculty for writing the contest problems and the Illinois College students for organizing the meeting's student activities. There are eleven student talks.

**Project NExT:** Lanette Poteete-Young announced that there are six new sectional NexT fellows and one returning. She also announced that Roberta Christie will be the new NexT director. Jim formally thanked Lanette for her work as the sectional Project NexT director.

Award Committee: Doug Nelson reported that there will be no awards given this year, and

called for ways to increase the number of nominations.

**AMC Coordinator:** Herb reported that the number of students taking the AMC 8, 10, and 12 this year was down. IMSA again received the Tippet Award for being the highest scoring high school in the state.

**Liaison Coordinator:** Herb reported that the liaisons system is working well and that there has been additional contact with the liaisons.

**Audit Committee** (Patrick McCray): The Treasurer's report is a clear and faithful rendering of the financial dealings of the ISMAA.

**Governor's report:** Ralph Czerwinski reported on the Baltimore meetings and gave a list of the upcoming Mathfest locations. He also spoke of the financial conditions of the MAA, the PREP program, special interest groups, bylaw changes, and changes in membership benefits. He encouraged all to attend the Mathfest where the topic will be Mathematics and the visual arts.

## **Announcements:**

Jim recognized and thanked the Board members and those retiring from their positions.

Jim thanked the Program Committee and the chair, Carol Schmidt, as well as Pat Kiihne (the local arrangements contact) and the Illinois College Mathematics Club.

Jim also thanked the membership for allowing him to serve as chair this past year.

The new chair of the section, Herb Kasube, thanked the Nominating Committee and announced that Roosevelt University will host the 2004 Annual Meeting on April 2-3, 2004.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jon L. Johnson Secretary/Treasurer