Illinois Section of the MAA **Business Meeting** April 5, 2002 McKendree College

The Business Meeting of the ISMAA was called to order by Bob Johnson at 4:30 p.m.

The minutes were approved as read by Jon Johnson.

The Treasurer's Report was presented for informational purposes.

The Annual Meeting sites for 2003 (Illinois College, Jacksonville, IL March 27 - 29) and 2004 (Roosevelt University, Schaumburg, IL) were announced, and schools were invited to host the 2005 meeting.

Committee Reports:

The Nominating Committee (Melvyn Jeter) made the following recommendations: Special Election for Chair (one year term to replace Bob Johnson): Jim Marshall; Chair-elect Herb Kasube; Director of Public Universities: Joseph Rosenblatt; for Directors-at-Large: Mary Armon, Roberta Christie, Don Porzio. There were no nominations from the floor and the slate passed unanimously.

Two-Year College Committee (Keven Hansen): Keven made a motion to change the Illinois Mathematics and Computer Science Articulation Guide:

1. On the first paragraph of the Geometry description:

Geometry is a course in the fundamental concepts of geometry intended for students who lack credit in one year of high school geometry or need a review of the subject matter. This course is equivalent to a one-year course in high school geometry.

2. Add to each course description directly below the Prerequisite statement the statement: "Note: See Technology Statement in the Introduction."

3. Place headings of Technology statement before the 3rd paragraph and Standards statement before the 4th paragraph on page 4 of the Articulation Guide.

4. Change the 3rd paragraph (Technology Statement) to include "As stated in the Crossroads in Mathematics: Standards for Introductory College Mathematics Before Calculus (AMATYC, 1995, p.12), "Technology should be ...".

After being seconded, the motion passed.

The Teacher Education Committee (Don Porzio): reported on the teacher certification changes.

The Secondary High School Lecture Committee (Bob Johnson for Chris Boucher): requested volunteers to speak in the program.

Project NExT: Lanette Poteete-Young announced that there is one new NexT fellow. She also described the program this year.

Award Committee: Herb Kasube thanked Doug Nelson and Howard Saar and indicated that nominations for both awards are desired. He reported that the awards will be given at the

banquet. The winners were M. Vali Siadat for Distinguished Teaching and Melvyn Jeter for Distinguished Service.

AMC Coordinator: Herb reported that IMSA was again the winner of the Tippett Award

Liaison Coordinator: Herb reported that the liaisons are continuing to grow and an updated list will be available this summer. Martha Siegel also reported that the new software should make it easier for the sections to get data on members, liaisons, etc.

Roger Eggleton reported on the progress toward writing the history of the section. Keven Hansen is assisting.

Student Chapter Liaison: John Haverhals reported that there were 21 students participating on 8 teams. He also thanked the Eastern Illinois University faculty for writing the contest problems. There are two sessions of student talks.

Finance Committee: Ralph Czerwinski presented the budget.

Governor's report: Ralph Czerwinski reported on the San Diego and Madison meetings and the upcoming sites of the Mathfest. He also spoke of the financial conditions of the MAA, the PREP program and membership increases.

Larry Morley made a presentation on College Algebra. A possible proposal was discussed.

Carol Schmidt, for the **Program Committee**, asked people to fill out the evaluation and announced the tentative speakers and topics for next year's meeting.

Announcements:

Bob recognized and thanked the Board members and those retiring from their positions.

Bob thanked McKendree College. He also thanked the Program Committee and the chair Jim Olsen, and the members of the section.

The new chair of the section, Jim Marshall, thanked the Nominating Committee and announced that Illinois College will host the 2003 Annual Meeting on March 27-29, 2003.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jon L. Johnson Secretary/Treasurer