MINUTES OF BUSINESS MEETING AT THE 79TH ANNUAL MEETING OF THE ILLINOIS SECTION OF THE MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA HELD AT NORTH CENTRAL COLLEGE MARCH 31, 2000

Melvyn Jeter called the Meeting to order at 4:32 p.m. The minutes of the 78th Annual Meeting were read by Jon Johnson and approved.

The Treasurer's Report was accepted as presented.

Robert Hathway, Chair of the Nominating Committee, moved the nomination of the following individuals: Robert Johnson as Chair-elect, Jon L. Johnson as Secretary-Treasurer, Carol D. Schmidt as the Director for Community Colleges, and Sandra Cox, Theresa Friedman, and Lanette Poteete-Young as Directors-at-Large. There were no additional nominations and the slate was approved unanimously.

Larry Morley, as Chair of the Ad-hoc Committee on College Algebra, reported that there are some primary issues concerning the courses called College Algebra: 1) the role of College Algebra as articulation from high school to college, 2) that college algebra is not intermediate algebra, and 3) that quantitative or literacy requirements need to be examined and changed. The committee is open to input from the section members. A national level MAA committee is being formed.

Two- year College Committee: Jim Olsen gave the history and background of the Elementary Mathematical Modeling course. On behalf or the committee, Jim moved:

A new course, Elementary Mathematical Modeling, be added to the Illinois Mathematics and Computer Science Articulation Guide.

The motion was seconded and passed.

Jim Olsen also moved that

ISMAA requests that the Illinois Articulation Initiative accept this as a general education course in the curriculum guide.

The motion was seconded and there was discussion as to the competency requirements and general education requirements and concern about the rigor and strength of the course. The question was called. The debate was closed, and the motion was passed with some opposition.

Linda Sons, reporting for the Finance committee, thanked those schools who were ISMAA Institutional Sponsors, indicating that the response had been wonderful.

John Haverhals (Student Chapter Coordinator) reported that 21 students participated in the contest with 9 teams and that there are 5 student presentations at the meeting and 16 student chapters in Illinois. John also thanked the contest writing team from Eastern Illinois University for developing the questions in the student mathematics contest.

Herb Kasube, for the High School Mathematics Contest, reported that the contest has new titles: AMC 8 (for those thru grade 8), AMC-10 (for those thru grade 10), and AMC-12 (for those thru grade 12). IMSA and Naperville North High Schools were the winners of the Tippett Prize (AMC-12)

Herb Kasube, as Liaison Coordinator, reported that there are over 1500 liaisons nationally.

Larry Morley, Governor of the Section, reported that: the national MAA is concerned about membership; the national MAA wishes to have more members involved at the National or State level on committees and requests nominations and volunteers from the section members; the websites are playing an important role in Maa and that needs to be increased; and that Mathfest 2000 will be in Los Angeles and Mathfest 2001 will be in Madison, Wisconsin.

Melvyn Jeter, Chair of the Section, called for volunteers for committees and recognized and thanked ISMAA members whose terms are expiring: Jon L. Johnson, Jim Trefzger, Phil Marcus, James Marshall, Cheryl Hawker, Scott Harrod, and John Haverhals. He also thanked those committee members whose terms were expiring: Rich Wilders (Audit, Program), Neale Fadden (Awards); Linda Sons (Finance), Ruth Hartman (Nominating), Jim Trefzger (Program), Jim Kulich (HS Lecture), Bill Messersmith and Jon Odell (Teacher Ed.), and Jim Marshall (2 year college). Melvyn also encouraged the membership to forward ideas and suggestions of website enhancements to him or other board members. Melvyn also reminded us that the Mathfest will be in Madison Wisconsin next year.

Jim Marshall (Project NExT) reported that we have 6 new Sectional Project NExT fellows this year and that 2 were from 2 year colleges. Jim also highlighted the program activities.

Neale Fadden, reporting for the Awards Committee, announced that the Awards will be made at the Banquet this evening and requested nominations for the teaching award. (The winner of the Distinguished Service Award was Ralph Czerwinski and the winner of the Distinguished Teaching Award was Al Otto.)

No Old Business

New Business: Bob Hathway read a resolution for Tom Shigalis.

Announcements

- 1. Melvyn Jeter reminded everyone that the Student Pizza Party, the reception, and the banquet were tonight.
- 2. The University of Illinois will be the host for the 2001 Annual Meeting on March 22 24, 2001.

The meeting adjourned at 5:35 pm.

Respectfully Submitted, Jon L. Johnson, Secretary - Treasurer