## MINUTES OF BUSINESS MEETING AT THE 77<sup>TH</sup> ANNUAL MEETING OF THE ILLINOIS SECTION OF THE MATHEMATICAL ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA HELD AT MCKENDREE COLLEGE ON MARCH 28, 1998

Jane Swafford Called the meeting to order at 4:15 pm. The minutes of the 76<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting were read by Jon Johnson and approved on a motion by Ralph Czerwinski with a second by Rita Fischbach. The Treasurer's Report was accepted as presented on a motion by Herb Kasube with a second by Linda Sons.

Carole Bauer, Governor of the Section, reported that the highlight of the meeting in Baltimore was the burning of the mortgage of the Washington property. Mathfest will be held July 18 -22, 1998 in Toronto with the SIAM meeting just before. The 1999 Mathfest plans are moving ahead as well as those for the year 2000. However, no location for the 1999 event has been announced. The TIMSS study brought up concerns that will be addressed by the MAA. Math Awareness Week will be in April. The year 2000 Math Awareness Week theme will be chosen by MAA. Suggestions may be sent to Marcia Sward by April 10, 1998.

Jane Swafford thanked Carole and announced that Larry Morley was elected the new Governor of the Section and will take office on July 1. Jane also recognized ISMAA members going off the Board: Ralph Czerwinski as past Chair, Melvyn Jeter as Director of Private Colleges Mary Beth Dever, Dennis Schneider, and Lyle Welch as Directors-at-Large. Jane also thanked Dennis Ryan (the local host of the 77<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting), Herb Hethcote, John Dossey, Dan Mauldin, David Stone, and Mike Starbird as the invited speakers, John Haverhals for coordinating the student activities, Claire Krukenberg and Pete Stucky for their work as members of the Program Committee, and a special thanks to Melvyn Jeter as the chair of the Program committee.

Larry Morley, representing the Awards Committee (Shirley Wilson of North Central College and Neale Fadden of Belleville Community College), announced that the awards for Distinguished Service and Distinguished Teaching will be presented at the banquet. He also thanked those who nominated members for the awards. He indicated that in order to meet national deadlines the nominations need to be in earlier this year, and handed out the brochure/application materials.

Rita Fishbach, representing the Committee on Two Year Colleges, presented changes in the Curriculum Guide for the Illinois Articulation Initiative (IAI). The IAI is an effort by IBSE to make the transfer/movement of students between schools easier. The following four changes were included in the report:

- A. Quantitative Literacy prerequisite of both Geometry & Intermediate Algebra
- B. Change the title of "Fortran for Science and Engineering" to "Computer Programming For Science and Engineering."
- C. Discrete Mathematics 3-4 semester hours, and
- D. Remove the statement "rather than an appreciation of mathematics and routine skills." In addition, the Committee recommends that ISMAA and IMACC investigate implementing the NCTM/AMATYC standards into the Curriculum Guide.

Rita moved the approval of the report with a second by Herb Kasube. The report passed

unanimously. It was noted that before these recommendations can be implemented, they must be passed by both IMACC and ISMAA.

John Haverhals (Student Chapter Coordinator) reported continued growth in the Student Chapters with at least two more chapters added. He requested that Student Chapter advisers explain the mentoring program to their students. He announced that there will be 3 students presenting papers and that the competition had 8 teams with 16 students. Problems and solutions will be published in the Greater than Zero newsletter

Jim Marshall (Project NExT) reported that the section received a grant funded by Exxon which established a Sectional project NExT. Activities include an opening lunch, panel discussion, and ending lunch. There were 3 Sectional Project NexT fellows (two of whom were not planning on attending). The section will try to continue Project NExT for next year.

Ralph Czerwinski reported about the Exxon Mentoring Grant: 15 non-academic mentors but only 3 students. The students need not be in the same geographical area as the mentor. ISMAA has budgeted \$100 each of the next two years to continue the project.

Ralph Czerwinski gave the report of the nominating committee: Melvyn Jeter -- Chair-elect; Tom Bengtson - Director for Private Colleges and Universities; and Herb Kasube, Vicki Beitler, Dennis Ryan -- Directors-at-large. There were no additional nominations. The candidates were elected unanimously.

No Old Business

No New Business

## **Announcements**

- 1. Augustana College will be the host for the 1999 Annual Meeting on April 9-10, 1999.
- 2. Claire Krukenberg will be the chair of the program committee and he called for suggestions
- 3. Two schools McHenry College and North Central College expressed an interest in hosting the meeting in the year 2000.
- 4. Jane thanked the Section for their assistance during her tenure as chair and allowing her to be chair this past year. She enjoyed it tremendously and felt that it was a great privilege to serve the section.
- 5. The Section's By-law changes passed the MAA.
- 6. Bob Hathaway closed the meeting with a reminder to attend the banquet. The meeting adjourned at 5:14 pm.

Respectfully Submitted,

Jon L. Johnson, Secretary - Treasurer