The MAA has two awards for distinguished college or university teaching of mathematics: the Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award (instituted in 1991) and, for beginning college or university teachers of mathematics, the Henry L. Alder Award (instituted in 2003). The recipient of the Golden Section Teaching Award (General) is nominated by the Section for the MAA Haimo Award. The recipient of the Golden Section New Teaching Award is nominated by the Section for the MAA Alder Award if the recipient holds a PhD. The Golden Section has a two-step nomination process that consists of (i) the initial nomination, and (ii) the full nomination. The initial nomination is very simple and requires the filling out of a one-page form together with a one-page summary that supports the nomination. After screening the initial nominations, the Teaching Awards Committee will invite the nominators of clearly competitive nominations to submit full nominations.

Members of the Golden Section are encouraged to nominate their exceptional colleagues for the two Golden Section Distinguished Teaching Awards (New Teacher and General). The formal Call for Nominations and the Nomination Form files are available at the website shown above.

These files describe the award and eligibility requirements.

http://sections.maa.org/golden/Teach.html

The above link shows all previous section winners. Winners who have also gone on to win the national award are as follows:

HAIMO

Paul R Halmos (1993 UC DAVIS)
Edward M Landesman (1995 UC SANTA CRUZ)
Leonard F. Klosinski (1999 U SANTA CLARA)
Evelyn Silvia (2000 UC DAVIS)
Paul Zeitz (2002 U San Francisco)
Gerlald L Alexanderson (2004 U SANTA CLARA)
Allan J Rossman (2009 Cal Poly San Luis Obispo)
Mathias Beck (2012 San Francisco State U)
Federico Ardila (2020 SF State & U de Los Andes)
Elaine Kasimatis (2021 CSU Sacramento)

ALDER

Kim Seashore (2021 San Francisco State)