The Mathematical Association of America
Policies of the Florida Section

Many of the policies and procedures of the Florida Section are contained in the Bylaws. The following is a listing of formal policies that have been adopted and approved by the Executive Committee.

Publishing companies and vendors will be charged a $400 fee to set up a table at the annual meeting (February 2004).

The dates of the annual meeting will be the third weekend of February, whenever possible, so as to not conflict with Spring Break at some state institutions (February 2004).

Travel reimbursement will be provided to section officers attending national MAA meetings when they are formally representing the section (February 2004). In May 2012, this policy was amended to also include the section’s recipient of the once every five year National Meritorious Service Award. In February 2014, this policy was further amended to ensure that a member of the Executive Committee, other than the Governor, would be selected to attend MathFest as the sections representative.

The section will nominate the previous years Florida Teaching Award recipient for the national Haimo Teaching Award (April 2004).

The section expanded the duties of the President-elect to submit an annual report summarizing the activities of the regions that may have occurred within the last 12 months. The six regions of the Florida Section are Big Bend (Tallahassee); Central Florida (Orlando); First Coast (Jacksonville); Gold Coast (Miami); Suncoast (Tampa/St. Petersburg); West Coast (Pensacola) (April 2004).

The section will develop two registration forms for its annual meetings – one for faculty and one for students (February 2005).

The section will provide funding to Executive Committee members to attend the annual February and May meetings whenever they do not receive funding from their host institutions (February 2005).

The section will encourage student attendance at the annual meeting by subsidizing some of the costs associated with the conference luncheon. The cost structure for students will be a 50% discount (May 2018).

The pre-registration fees for the annual meeting will be $25 and the on-site registration fees will be $30. For students, both pre-registration and on-site registration fees will be $5. The price for the luncheon at the annual meeting will vary from year to year and will cover actual expenses (May 2018).

The section will maintain a “Local Arrangements’ checklist to provide guidance to host institutions as to what they have to do and when (May 2006).

The prizes for the Student Contests are $50 and $25 for the first and second place winners of the Integral Contest. The winner of the Ken/Ken or Suduko contest can select a book from the FL-MAA collection (February 2007). In May 2016, this policy was amended to provide the student winners with Amazon Gift Cards in these dollar amounts as opposed to cash or books.

Graduate and undergraduate student speakers at the annual meeting will be allowed to select a book from the FL-MAA collection in recognition of their participation (April 2008).

Individual regions in the state can use the section’s account (making deposits into it and having reimbursements made out of it) if they want to but the individual regions are not required to do this (May 2010).

The section will no longer award the FL MAA certificates that, in the past, have been prepared for all speakers at the meeting. Instead, the section will prepare certificates only for pleanary speakers and student speakers (May 2010).

The contributed papers sessions of the annual meeting shall either consist of 20 minute talks with a 10 minute break in between or shall consist of 45 minute talks with a 15 minute break in between. The specific format of the meeting can vary from year to year with the final decision being made by the Vice-president for Programs (April 2012).

The section will reimburse travel and expenses for one local and one national plenary speaker to the annual meeting (February 2013).

The section will create a new ad hoc committee titled the Historical Preservation Committee with the responsibilities of expanding and cataloging historical information on the Archives page of the sections website (February 2013).

The President-Elect of the section is responsible for compiling the minutes at the Annual Business Meeting and preparing them for distribution at the subsequent Annual Business Meeting a year hence (February 2014).