

Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting Florida Section of the Mathematical Association of America May 4, 2013 Edison State College

President Sidra Van de Car called the meeting to order at 3:13pm.

In attendance:

Angela Angeleska (UTampa), VP-Elect Site Selection Brian Camp (Saint Leo), VP-Elect Programs Daniela Genova (UNF), Past President Scott Hochwald (UNF), President-Elect David Kerr (Eckerd), Newsletter-Editor Penny Morris (PSC), VP Site Selection Altay Özgener (SCF), Webmaster Joni Pirnot (SCF), VP Programs Don Ransford (ESC). Local Arrangements Janet Samuels (SCF), Student Activities Coordinator Sidra Van de Car (Valencia), President John Waters (SCF), Secretary/Treasurer

The minutes from the Executive Committee Meeting of February 22, 2013 were approved with minor corrections.

Reports:

John Waters reported that the section has a current balance of \$14,017.45 as of 2/21/13 but that this balance will significantly decrease once all of the expenses from the 2013 meeting are paid. John reported that he submitted the yearly financial report to Sharon Tyron at the MAA in January 2013 and that our account was in balance.

David Kerr reported on a draft of a new section of the Archives to be titled 'Standing Policies of the Florida Section.' This is a compilation of all policies approved and adopted by the Executive Committee over the years as gleaned from the minutes. Eventually the document will be uploaded onto the section's website.

Joni Pirnot reported that two of the plenary speakers to the 2014 meeting have already committed: Bob Devaney from Boston University and Donal O'Shea from New College of Florida. As is the policy of the Florida Section, Joni will solicit abstracts from graduate students at FSU, UF, USF, and UCF for presentations at the 2014 meeting. The section provides some monetary support to these students in order to encourage participation. Joni reported that the form for the 2014 meeting would be 20 minute presentations with 10 minute breaks in between. Related to this, the Executive Committee engaged in a long discussion on whether or not to invite the plenary





addresses based on a particular theme or to simply solicit the best people we can. It was decided to allow each VP for Programs the flexibility in designing the program he or she felt best.

Penny Morris reports that the sites for the upcoming meetings will be:

2014 – Edison State College, Ft. Myers, February 21, 22 2014

2015 – Eckerd College, St. Petersburg, TBD

2016 - Saint Leo University, TBD

Penny reported that David Kerr would serve as Local Arrangements Chair at Eckerd College.

Janet Samuels reported that 20 students from UM, FAU, UWF, and SCF participated in the student integral contest at the 2013 meeting but that over 80 undergraduate students had registered for the meeting. Janet said that she will try to solicit more departments to participate in the competitions. Janet reported that she will work with Altay to update the Student Activities page of our website to include a list of student speakers who had presented at the 2013 meeting.

Scott Hochwald reported that he will be contacting each region in the state to encourage regional meetings. Right now, Scott reported that only First Coast, Suncoast, and West Coast are active.

Don Ransford reported that most of the 2014 meeting can be hosted in a single building at Edison State – registration and book publishing tables centrally located in the lobby. Don and Sidra suggested that for future meetings the URL for Guest Login at the host site be listed in the program.

Penny Morris reported that FTYCMA will hold its Fall Retreat in downtown St. Petersburg this upcoming Fall Semester and that the retreat will focus on the new Florida state initiatives concerning remedial courses.

Old Business

Daniela Genova will continue to work on job descriptions for the section officers. Daniela will also work to upload copies of all our old programs to the Archives section.

New Business

The Executive Committee appointed the Nominating Committee: Daniela Genova (Chair), Altay Özgener, Brian Camp

The Executive Committee appointed the Awards Committee: David Kerr (Chair), Monica Kiss

The Executive Committee decided to donate \$500 annually to support Project NExT

The meeting adjourned at 5:00pm and was followed by a tour of the facilities.