Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting Florida Section of the Mathematical Association of America February 17, 2006 Florida Atlantic University - Jupiter Campus

President Steph Fitchett called the meeting to order at 9:35am.

In attendance:

Joel Berman, VP-elect-Programs; Guesna Dohrman, VP Site Selection Terje Hoim, Local Arrangements Committee; Scott Hochwald, Past President; Daniel Jelsovsky, Coordinator of Student Activities; David Kerr, Governor; Chuck Lindsey, 3rd Past President; Bill Rush, Newsletter Editor; John Waters, Secretary/Treasurer; Jacci White, President-elect Li Zhou, VP-Programs.

The minutes from the Executive Committee Meeting of April 23, 2005 were approved.

Reports:

1. Steph Fitchett reported that MAA national wants each section to compile a report on its history and to forward these reports to MAA national for the 2015 centennial. Steph also reported that the American Mathematical Competitions (AMC) is currently looking for volunteers to serve as question developers and reviewers.

2. John Waters reported that as of 2/15/06 our balance was \$9,571.68 but that this balance will change over the next few days as additional income is received from the annual meeting and as expenses incurred in support of the annual meeting are paid.

3. David Kerr reported that MAA national is currently engaged in its second phase of strategic planning and that the three areas to be looked at this year are membership, student activities and governance. David also reported on the state of the Carriage House at MAA headquarters. He also reported on several new MAA books that have been published this past year including a new CD highlighting some of Martin Gardner's articles from Scientific American.

4. Bill Rush reported that there are currently 723 e-mail addresses in the FL-MAA listserv. He also reported that "loads and reloads" this past year are up 19.1% over the previous year.

5. Jacci White reported on regional meetings across the state. Suncoast region had their annual meeting on December 2, 2005 at New College of Florida in Sarasota. First Coast has scheduled a regional meeting in March 2006.

6. Dan Jelsovsky reported that 2 undergraduate students and 2 graduate students will be making presentations at this year's meeting.

7. Guesna Dohrman reported on the site selection for the next couple of years.

2007 meeting - February 16/17 at Tallahassee Community College 2008 meeting - February 15/16 at Florida Southern College

9. Li Zhou reported on the program. He asked several members of the Executive Committee to help introduce the plenary speakers - Steph Fitchett, Scott Hochwald, Terje Hoim and Chuck Lindsey all volunteered. After some discussion about the closing date for abstract submission, it was decided to keep the abstract submission deadline for contributed papers at the annual meeting as December 15 annually.

10. Chuck Lindsey reported that Mike Mears is the 2006 recipient of the service award and Lubomir Markov is the 2006 recipient of the teaching award. The section's Haimo Award nominee this year would be Pat MacDonald.

11. Scott Hochwald presented the slate of officers for next year. The nominations are:

Lubomir Markov, President-elect Eduardo Fernandez, VP-elect for Programs Pam Crawford, VP-elect for Site Selection John Waters, Secretary/Treasurer Steph Fitchett, Newsletter Editor-elect

Old Business

1. FL-MAA checking account at Suntrust. As the newly elected Secretary/Treasurer, John Waters is authorized to sign checks for the section. The executive committee also authorized David Kerr to sign checks. Both of these individuals are authorized to negotiate signature cards with Suntrust. The previous names on the account, Joe Skala and Kenneth Pothoven, are authorized to be removed.

2.Steph Fitchett reported that there is some interest in activating a section NeXT/ACCESS type program which would run in conjunction with our annual meetings. Steph said that she will be gathering more information this year about funding the program.

New Business

1. Every 5 years section's are allowed to award a national Meritorious Service Certificate to one person in the section. It is Florida's turn next year so the Executive Committee appointed David Kerr, Steph Fitchett and Jacci White to select an individual and to forward a citation along to the national office.